Many library services and hours are adjusted due to COVID-19. Please check the library's website for updates.

Legion Memorial Library - Mellen

The book woman of Troublesome Creek: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Landmark, [2019].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
308 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Status:
Description

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A USA TODAY BESTSELLER
A LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER
AN OKRA PICK

The bestselling historical fiction from Kim Michele Richardson, this is a novel following Cussy Mary, a packhorse librarian and her quest to bring books to the Appalachian community she loves, perfect for readers of Lee Smith and Lisa Wingate. The perfect addition to your next book club!

The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything—everything except books, that is. Thanks to Roosevelt's Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome's got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.

Cussy's not only a book woman, however, she's also the last of her kind, her skin a shade of blue unlike most anyone else. Not everyone is keen on Cussy's family or the Library Project, and a Blue is often blamed for any whiff of trouble. If Cussy wants to bring the joy of books to the hill folks, she's going to have to confront prejudice as old as the Appalachias and suspicion as deep as the holler.

Inspired by the true blue-skinned people of Kentucky and the brave and dedicated Kentucky Pack Horse library service of the 1930s, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is a story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere—even back home.

"This gem of a historical from Richardson features an indomitable heroine navigating a community steeped in racial intolerance...Readers will adore the memorable Cussy and appreciate Richardson's fine rendering of rural Kentucky life." —Publishers Weekly

Other Bestselling Historical Fiction from Sourcebooks Landmark:
The Only Woman in the Room by Marie Benedict
The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict
The Engineer's Wife by Tracey Enerson Wood
Sold on a Monday by Kristina McMorris

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Ashland Adult Fiction
RICHARDSON
Due Oct 28, 2021
Bayfield Adult Fiction
RIC
Due Oct 30, 2021
Boulder Junction Adult Fiction
FIC RIC
Available
Oct 12, 2021
Cable Adult Fiction
FIC RIC
Available
Sep 9, 2021
Drummond Adult Fiction
F RIC PBK
Due Nov 1, 2021
Drummond Adult Fiction
F RIC
On Holdshelf
Eagle River Adult Fiction
FIC RIC
Due Nov 3, 2021
Hayward Adult And Young Adult Fiction
RIC
On Holdshelf
Iron River Adult Fiction
F RIC pb
Due Nov 1, 2021
Land O Lakes Adult Fiction
FIC RIC
Due Oct 30, 2021
Mercer Adult Fiction
F RIC
Due Oct 29, 2021
Presque Isle Adult Fiction
F Ric
On Holdshelf
Sayner Adult Fiction
RICHARDSON
On Holdshelf
Spooner Adult Fiction
F RIC
Available
Sep 25, 2021
Superior Adult Fiction
FICTION Richardson, Kim M.
Available
Oct 13, 2021
Webster Adult Fiction
FIC RIC HC
Available
Oct 8, 2021
Winchester Adult Fiction
RIC
On Holdshelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
1492691631, 9781492691631, 9781492671527

Notes

General Note
Includes reading group guide, and a conversation with the author.
Description
"Cussy Mary Carter is the last of her kind, her skin the color of a blue damselfly in these dusty hills. But that doesn't mean she's got nothing to offer. As a member of the Pack Horse Library Project, Cussy delivers books to the hill folk of Troublesome, hoping to spread learning in these desperate times. But not everyone is so keen on Cussy's family or the Library Project, and the hardscrabble Kentuckians are quick to blame a Blue for any trouble in their small town. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is a story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's determination to bring a little bit of hope to the darkly hollers"--Provided by publisher.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Richardson, K. M. (2019). The book woman of Troublesome Creek: a novel. Naperville, Illinois: Sourcebooks Landmark.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Richardson, Kim Michele. 2019. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel. Naperville, Illinois: Sourcebooks Landmark.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Richardson, Kim Michele, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel. Naperville, Illinois: Sourcebooks Landmark, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Richardson, Kim Michele. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel. Naperville, Illinois: Sourcebooks Landmark, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
8147fb7c-6cb1-c376-60d3-5257eee67480
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeOct 15, 2021 11:21:39 AM
Last File Modification TimeOct 15, 2021 11:21:55 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 18, 2021 04:40:33 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03669cam 2200493 i 4500
008180723t20192019iluao  e      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2018033574
020 |a 1492691631|q (hardcover)
020 |a 9781492691631|q (hardcover)
020 |a 9781492671527|q (paperback)
040 |b eng|e rda
1001 |a Richardson, Kim Michele,|e author.
24514|a The book woman of Troublesome Creek :|b a novel /|c Kim Michele Richardson.
264 1|a Naperville, Illinois :|b Sourcebooks Landmark,|c [2019]
264 4|c ©2019
300 |a 308 pages :|b illustrations ;|c 24 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
500 |a Includes reading group guide, and a conversation with the author.
520 |a "Cussy Mary Carter is the last of her kind, her skin the color of a blue damselfly in these dusty hills. But that doesn't mean she's got nothing to offer. As a member of the Pack Horse Library Project, Cussy delivers books to the hill folk of Troublesome, hoping to spread learning in these desperate times. But not everyone is so keen on Cussy's family or the Library Project, and the hardscrabble Kentuckians are quick to blame a Blue for any trouble in their small town. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is a story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's determination to bring a little bit of hope to the darkly hollers"--Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Packhorse librarians|z Kentucky|v Fiction.
651 0|a Kentucky|x History|y 20th century|v Fiction.
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 lcgft
907 |a .b2039701x
940 |a MARCIVE 05/2019
945 |y .i32915512|i 30135001482494|l hafic|s !|h |u 25|x 12|w 5|v 4|t 100|z 190423|j 10-07-2021 17:03|r l|a RIC
945 |y .i32992725|i 30165000308895|l lofic|s -|h 211030|u 25|x 7|w 7|v 1|t 100|z 190520|j 09-21-2021 20:58|r l|a FIC RIC
945 |y .i33003385|i 30205000422401|l mrfic|s -|h 211029|u 27|x 7|w 11|v 2|t 100|z 190528|j 10-04-2021 17:46|r l|a F RIC
945 |y .i33008565|i 30005000405228|l bjafi|s -|h |u 20|x 8|w 4|v 3|t 100|z 190530|j 10-12-2021 15:54|r l|a FIC RIC
945 |y .i33014097|i 30035000381152|l piafi|s !|h |u 24|x 9|w 4|v 1|t 100|z 190603|j 07-20-2021 16:07|r l|a F Ric
945 |y .i33042019|i 30015000679383|l weafi|s -|h |u 23|x 9|w 5|v 7|t 100|z 190614|j 10-08-2021 14:42|r l|a FIC RIC HC
945 |y .i33095723|i 30055001077062|l erfic|s -|h 211103|u 27|x 11|w 9|v 3|t 100|z 190710|j 09-28-2021 17:46|r l|a FIC RIC
945 |y .i33110888|i 30105000596123|l bafic|s -|h 211030|u 20|x 8|w 6|v 3|t 100|z 190718|j 08-16-2021 15:29|r l|a RIC
945 |y .i33122192|i 30275000408213|l safic|s !|h |u 20|x 8|w 4|v 5|t 100|z 190725|j 08-10-2021 16:44|r l|a RICHARDSON
945 |y .i33707480|i 30245000679816|l spfic|s -|h |u 15|x 6|w 9|v 5|t 100|z 200528|j 09-25-2021 18:12|r l|a F RIC
945 |y .i33721269|i 30115000313635|l cafic|s -|h |u 10|x 4|w 6|v 2|t 100|z 200610|j 09-09-2021 14:57|r l|a FIC RIC
945 |y .i33888772|i 30265000459365|l irfic|s -|h 211101|u 8|x 3|w 5|v 0|t 105|z 200924|j 06-12-2021 15:08|r l|a F RIC pb
945 |y .i33906579|i 30125000171149|l drfic|s !|h |u 9|x 3|w 6|v 0|t 100|z 201006|j 07-07-2021 14:50|r l|a F RIC
945 |y .i33972436|i 36120004230946|l sufic|s -|h |u 8|x 2|w 6|v 1|t 100|z 201112|j 10-13-2021 17:09|r l|a FICTION Richardson, Kim M.
945 |y .i3397309x|i 30255000164800|l wnfic|s !|h |u 5|x 2|w 3|v 1|t 100|z 201112|j 08-09-2021 14:52|r l|a RIC
945 |y .i34065519|i 39576101033474|l asfic|s -|h 211028|u 7|x 0|w 7|v 4|t 103|z 201229|j 08-31-2021 15:18|r l|a RICHARDSON
945 |y .i34227258|i 30125000176643|l drfic|s -|h 211101|u 3|x 0|w 3|v 0|t 103|z 210415|j 06-17-2021 13:41|r l|a F RIC PBK
998 |h z|e l |f eng|a as|a ba|a bj|a ca|a dr|a er|a ha|a ir|a lo|a mr|a pi|a sa|a sp|a su|a we|a wn