Many library services and hours are adjusted due to COVID-19. Please check the library's website for updates.

Legion Memorial Library - Mellen

The life she was given

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
[2017]
Language:
English
Description
A GREAT GROUP READS Selection of the Women’s National Book Association and National Reading Group Month 

A GOODREADS Best of the Month Selection
 
“A powerful, poignant novel.”
In Touch, Grade A

 
From the internationally bestselling author of The Orphan Collector comes a beautifully written and moving tale of family secrets and the importance of a mother’s love—and how it can shape a life—even in the most shocking ways. A painful saga of strength and reinvention perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Lisa Wingate—set in two different times, as two young women come of age and uncover the mysteries of their families, and find their own ways in the world…
 
On a summer evening in 1931, Lilly Blackwood glimpses circus lights from the grimy window of her attic bedroom. Lilly isn’t allowed to explore the meadows around Blackwood Manor. She’s never even ventured beyond her narrow room. Momma insists it’s for Lilly’s own protection, that people would be afraid if they saw her. But on this unforgettable night, Lilly is taken outside for the first time—and sold to the circus sideshow.

More than two decades later, nineteen-year-old Julia Blackwood has inherited her parents’ estate and horse farm. For Julia, home was an unhappy place full of strict rules and forbidden rooms, and she hopes that returning might erase those painful memories. Instead, she becomes immersed in a mystery involving a hidden attic room and photos of circus scenes featuring a striking young girl.

At first, The Barlow Brothers’ Circus is just another prison for Lilly. But in this rag-tag, sometimes brutal world, Lilly discovers strength, friendship, and a rare affinity for animals. Soon, thanks to elephants Pepper and JoJo and their handler, Cole, Lilly is no longer a sideshow spectacle but the circus’s biggest attraction...until tragedy and cruelty collide. It will fall to Julia to learn the truth about Lilly’s fate and her family’s shocking betrayal, and find a way to make Blackwood Manor into a place of healing at last.

Moving between Julia and Lilly’s stories, Ellen Marie Wiseman portrays two extraordinary, very different women in a novel that, while tender and heartbreaking, offers moments of joy and indomitable hope.
 
“Perfect for book clubs and readers who admired Sara Gruen’s Like Water for Elephants.”
Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW
 
“A vibrant maze of desires.”
ForeWord Reviews

“Seamlessly blends mystery and history with compelling and well-researched details.”
The Historical Novels Review
 
“Vividly drawn and complex…Fans of Karen White and Sara Gruen will be drawn in by the drama and mystery of Wiseman’s novel.”
BookPage
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781617734496
9781683245032
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf842790b-09ff-518e-f0af-bfa72099aa6f
Grouping Titlelife she was given
Grouping Authorellen marie wiseman
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-10-02 07:26:39AM
Last Indexed2022-10-04 05:24:41AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Wiseman, Ellen Marie
author_display
Wiseman, Ellen Marie
detailed_location_mellen
Mellen Large Print
display_description
On a summer evening in 1931, Lilly Blackwood glimpses circus lights from the grimy window of her attic bedroom. Lilly isn't allowed to explore the meadows around Blackwood Manor. She's never even ventured beyond her narrow room. Momma insists it's for Lilly's own protection, that people would be afraid if they saw her. But on this unforgettable night, Lilly is taken outside for the first time--and sold to the circus sideshow. More than two decades later, nineteen-year-old Julia Blackwood has inherited her parents' estate and horse farm. For Julia, home was an unhappy place full of strict rules and forbidden rooms, and she hopes that returning might erase those painful memories. Instead, she becomes immersed in a mystery involving a hidden attic room and photos of circus scenes featuring a striking young girl. At first, The Barlow Brothers' Circus is just another prison for Lilly. But in this rag-tag, sometimes brutal world, Lilly discovers strength, friendship, and a rare affinity for animals. Soon, thanks to elephants Pepper and JoJo and their handler, Cole, Lilly is no longer a sideshow spectacle but the circus's biggest attraction...until tragedy and cruelty collide. It will fall to Julia to learn the truth about Lilly's fate and her family's shocking betrayal, and find a way to make Blackwood Manor into a place of healing at last. Moving between Julia and Lilly's stories, Ellen Marie Wiseman portrays two extraordinary, very different women in a novel that, while tender and heartbreaking, offers moments of joy and indomitable hope.
format_category_mellen
Books
format_mellen
Book
Large Print
id
f842790b-09ff-518e-f0af-bfa72099aa6f
isbn
9781617734496
9781683245032
itype_mellen
BOOK - HARDCOVER
BOOK - PAPERBACK
LARGE PRINT BOOK
last_indexed
2022-10-04T10:24:41.190Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_mellen
LP WIS
owning_library_mellen
Mellen Legion Memorial Library
owning_location_mellen
Mellen Legion Memorial Library
primary_isbn
9781617734496
publishDate
2017
publisher
Center Point Large Print
Kensington Books
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Albinos and albinism -- Fiction
Bildungsromans
Circus -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Horse farms -- New York (State) -- Fiction
Inheritance and succession -- Fiction
Large type books
New York (State) -- Fiction
title_display
The life she was given
title_full
The life she was given / Ellen Marie Wiseman
title_short
The life she was given
topic_facet
Albinos and albinism
Circus
Family secrets
Horse farms
Inheritance and succession

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b19957452.i31862111Grantsburg Adult FictionWISEMAN1falsefalseDue Oct 20, 2022Sep 07, 2022grfic
ils:.b19957452.i31856366Spooner Adult FictionF WIS1falsefalseOn HoldshelfSep 12, 2022spfic
ils:.b19957452.i3212742xSayner Adult FictionWISEMAN1falsefalseDue Oct 19, 2022Sep 15, 2022safic
ils:.b19957452.i34230464Bayfield Adult FictionFIC WIS1falsefalseDue Oct 4, 2022Sep 07, 2022bafic
ils:.b19957452.i3196719xWinchester Adult FictionWIS1falsefalseDue Oct 20, 2022Sep 07, 2022wnfic
ils:.b19980292.i32098753Mellen Large PrintLP WIS1falsefalseDue Oct 19, 2022Sep 07, 2022melgp
ils:.b19980292.i3191035xEagle River Large Print FictionLP WIS1falsefalseOn HoldshelfSep 17, 2022erlpf
ils:.b19980292.i31910014Superior Large Print FictionLP FICTION Wiseman, Ellen M.1falsefalseDue Oct 20, 2022Sep 10, 2022sulpf

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b19957452BookBooksEnglishKensington Books[2017]viii, 356 pages ; 21 cm
ils:.b19980292Large PrintBooksCenter Point Large Print editionEnglishCenter Point Large Print[2017]527 pages (large print) ; 23 cm

scoping_details_mellen

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b19957452.i31862111Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b19957452.i31856366Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b19957452.i3212742xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b19957452.i34230464Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsefalse99999999
ils:.b19957452.i3196719xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsefalse99999999
ils:.b19980292.i32098753Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b19980292.i3191035xChecked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b19980292.i31910014Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999